Discussion: View Thread

• 1.  MSN Degree Informatics

Posted 07-11-2016 22:35

HI Everyone, 

I am in the process of applying to two different online program for my MSN in Informatics, Chamberlain and Capella. 

Does anyone has any advice about which program is better or whether there is another online program you went to or have heard of that is better than either of those?

The curriculum at Chamberlain seems more developed specifically related to Informatics, but I've also read online reviews that Capella is a slightly better program and is more user friendly and less aggressive with regard to their recruiting techniques. 

I'm planning to start in the fall and would appreciate any advice you can offer!

(My background is organ transplantation as a liver and / or kidney coordinator for 10 years, 25 years as an RN).

Warm Regards, 

Leeanne

------------------------------
    Leeanne Shinn
    RN
    Encino CA

• 2.  RE: MSN Degree Informatics

Posted 09-09-2016 12:24

Reminder that Leanne has a question.  Can anyone help her out? 

Betty Blahna BSN RN M-PM
    Nursing Informatics Officer
    Duarte CA

• 3.  RE: MSN Degree Informatics

Posted 09-10-2016 12:38
    Good morning, Leanne and all!
    I was an advisor to the development of the Chamberlain program and I can speak to the quality, though their program is newer.  Chamberlain's approach was to gather the best input possible from the practice domain (people like me) and from informatics academic experts.  Their program is based on critical informatics competencies.  The curriculum and course content were informed by  informatics experts that are also leading revision of master's informatics program certification standards. 
    In addition to ensuring that their program reflects best informatics practices and the most important 'on-the-ground' competencies, Chamberlain takes responsibility to help students with practicum placement.