Discussion: View Thread

• 1.  MSN INFORMATICS PRACTICUM MENTOR NEEDED-TAMPA FL

Posted 03-10-2017 22:04
    Good Afternoon All,
    My name is Lindsay Corwin, and I am a MSN student with CCN in the Phi Pi chapter of Sigma Theta Tau, focusing in Nursing Informatics. I am eligible for the nursing informatics practicum starting September 2017. I am located in Tampa, FL. I have been attempting to secure a practicum site for Nursing Informatics, I have applied to one place, have yet to hear back from them.I have spoken with three other places,but they noted that they  do not have/or are accepting any MSN student opportunities at this time. I have reached out to colleagues and contacts for some referrals on MI INS in my area, and I have reached out to two contacts, I have not heard anything back from them yet. So far, I have been unsuccessful in securing a site, and the practicum application is due for me on May 1st.  I have been trying to be efficient in securing a site and have been attempting since January, but yet to have any luck. I’m getting worried about not being able to secure a site for MSN nursing informatics.  I have attempted to contact my track practicum coordinator since January, and have yet to yield any dialogue. I also have reached out to members of the American Nurses Informatics Association that I joined, and someone I did hear back from, was not accepting any MSN students for mentoring at this time. I feel as though my options are starting to run out, and I am not able to get a hold of my FL informatics track practicum coordinator. Is there any other insight or help someone can offer for mentor-ship for Informatics in the Tampa bay area in FL? Any insights or guidance would be greatly appreciated. 

Thank you,

Lindsay Corwin

------------------------------
    Lindsay Corwin
    Graduate Student
    Saint Petersburg FL

• 2.  RE: MSN INFORMATICS PRACTICUM MENTOR NEEDED-TAMPA FL

Posted 03-14-2017 23:30
    Hello,